One Page at a Time

When I was younger, I tried to keep a Diary, well it failed badly. Diaries are meant to keep secrets like hopes, secret crushes, dreams, things you shouldn’t be doing, etc. from others especially your parents, but I never got the hang of it. As an adult, I’ve discovered ‘Journaling’ because it’s important to write down my thoughts, memories, feelings, events that have happened in life and so on.

Life is important, it helps me tell my story so that future generations can learn about me and learn lessons from my life. Journaling is therapeutic, it helps me to write out stressful situations to clear your head or calm down and express emotions for healing. Recording World Events, it helps me to voice my point of view on an event that has happened. Celebrating Life, it helps me to write about special occasions, milestones, news, etc. that I experience.

I love to journal. I’m not great at it and I don’t always write in my journal which is usually because I have forgotten too or I’ve gotten lazy and don’t do it. Sometimes I’ll go months without writing or I may only write a paragraph, but it is meaningful to me at that time. I’m not saying that my life is grand either, but what I write could mean something one day to someone.

Journaling is similar to blogging, except in blogging I don’t write about my whole day, I only write or chose a topic to write about. I have many friends who journal for different reasons, but we all seem to grow from doing it and can look back on our life and see how far we’ve come. It’s never too late to start and you don’t have to write every day.

Have you ever tried to journal? How has it helped you discover yourself?

Leave a comment