Hidden Gem: Aloha Safari Rescue Zoo

Today, Momma took Me, Chuck, and Dakota to a little zoo about an hour away called Aloha Safari Rescue Zoo in Cameron. I think it’s the best little hidden gem for zoos in North Carolina. It cost $12 to get in and children under 2 years of age got in Free. We bought bags of feed to feed most of the animals and bought a small cup of carrots to feed Stretch the Giraffe. Park Price also included the trolley ride down to pastures to see larger animals, where you can also feed them bread provided by zoo. It took about a good 2 ½ hours to go through the whole zoo.

The zoo is filled with lots of different species of animals (some I’ve never heard of, let alone seen) as well as many birds and reptiles. They take in animals that people or other zoos don’t want anymore. I kind of felt like I was in the movie ‘We Bought a Zoo’ (which I do happen to love). Their Lion arrived yesterday, he came from Oklahoma and was still hiding out in his little home because he was still a little groggy from his sedation. There were lots of peacocks (even a couple that are all white and I saw at least 1 that was cream and brown) roaming the property. There were many of some species, while there may have only been 1 or 2 of other species. For the record, there were lots of goats AND they were hungry little creatures and will fight for their food…LOL.

I got to see a White Bengal Tiger named Spartacus. I have been intrigued with White Tigers since I was in the 9th grade, when drew one in my art class. I also held a small Ball Python and Bearded Dragon. Have I mentioned how much I really hate snakes? I don’t mind looking at them when there is a piece of glass in between me and their habitat. At first, I was like absolutely not, but my husband as well as the zoo staff member, said he wouldn’t hurt me, so I held him for about a minute and I was done. It was fun feeding Stretch the Giraffe carrots, Dakota held on tight to his carrot, not letting him have it.

The zoo is very family friendly. There were many picnic tables and benches around the property to have lunch or a picnic or there was a concession area to buy lunch or snacks. The gift shop was reasonable prices and all the money was put back into the zoo. They also rely on donations of food, supplies, volunteers, and money.

We really enjoyed our time today seeing new and unusual animals…So you’ll have to go check it out to see some other surprises as well like the unicorn (I will leave this one here, to make you go and see her for yourself). I would recommend Aloha Safari Rescue Zoo to anyone who loves animals or wants to take their family or friends somewhere inexpensive and educational.

 

Aloha Safari Rescue Zoo

 

Leave a comment