Glossophobia

Glossophobia is the fear of public speaking or of speaking in general.

Reports, Speeches, and Projects, Oh My!… You probably would never guess how much I hated having to give a presentation. I was even required to take a Public Speaking Course in College as a requirement to graduate.

I have a fear of Public Speaking and get extremely nervous when I have to speak in front of a large group of people. I’m generally a very shy and quiet, even in a small group setting, and I usually prefer to let others take the lead.

My fear causes me ramble on and on or even get off topic, my mouth gets dry, and my hands get fidgety. To help I usually have to hold a pen or something in my hand to help with my fidgeting.

My first experience with Public Speaking was when I was about 8 or 9 years old, I was giving a Sunday Morning Devotion in front of my church. I was so excited and nervous that as I started read, I began to cry. All I remember was someone coming to my rescue and stood beside to finish my devotion as the tears continued down my face and I couldn’t speak. I was so embarrassed.

In 2008, I started teaching at Albany Technical College and I quickly had to get over my Fear of Public Speaking. I taught for 3 ½ years and I’m grateful for my teaching experience because it has helped me to try and overcome my fear.

I’m not completely over my fear and I still get nervous, but I’m blessed with other small opportunities to speak in public. I teach my Sunday School class once or twice a year and last year, I served with a friend as a Table Captain at our Women’s Laughter and Latte, which meant I helped lead our discussions.

I will probably never be completely over my Fear of Public Speaking and I don’t plan on becoming a Professional Public Speaker and I’m Fine With That! If by chance I do become one I will try my best to not to cry.

Leave a Reply

