The Fruit of Summer

Today is National Watermelon Day. It’s a true summertime must have for any picnic, cookout, or pool party.

The city of Cordele, Georgia, which is less than an hour from my home town of Albany, is the Watermelon Capitol of the World. Every year, they have a festival to celebrate the tasty and juicy summer fruit. Country singer, Tracey Bird, even has a Billboard Hit called “The Watermelon Crawl” which is about the festival.

I love watermelon. For me the best way to eat it is shaking salt on it and digging into that giant triangle shape of red juice. I don’t know why, but it just tastes so much better. I do prefer seedless, but when I was younger I did enjoy seeing how far I could spit the seeds with my friends. I remember many summers, if we passed though the watermelon fields near Cordele we would stop on the side of the highway, pick one out, and leave. At that time, the fields weren’t monitored regularly like they probably are today.

There are many ways to eat watermelons and some people like to use them as art and decorations for parties.

Do you like watermelon? What is your favorite way to eat it?

 

Wikipedia: Watermelon Crawl

Leave a Reply

