An American Soldier

Memorial Day…Today we gather with friends and family to enjoy a day off from work and welcome ‘Summer’ by grilling up a good BBQ, drinking sweet ice tea or lemonade, swimming in the pool or lake, boating down river, sunbathing on a sandy beach, and shooting off fireworks. While these are great plans, we must not forget the real reason behind celebrating this national holiday…

On July 24th, 2005, my phone rang about 6:00am. Getting a call that early in the morning had better be something important or it’s never a good thing. My friend, Derek, was on the other end and with sadness in his voice, he told me that our good friend Gus, as well as 3 other members of his unit, were killed that morning when an improvised explosive device (IED) detonated near his Humvee while they were on patrol in Baghdad, Iraq.

Army Spc. Jacques ‘Gus’ Brunson was assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 121st Infantry Regiment, 48th Infantry Brigade, Georgia Army National Guard, Albany, Georgia and was serving in Operation Iraqi Freedom. The other 3 members of his unit were: Army Staff Sgt. Carl R. Fuller, Army Sgt. James O. Kinlow and Army Sgt. John F. Thomas.

Service men and women everyday selflessly leave their homes, family, and friends to fight and keep our nation safe and protect the freedoms we hold dearly. We must pray for them daily and hold them in the highest honor and respect because some will give the ultimate sacrifice and will never return home. Gus proudly served our country and was a beloved son, brother, father, and friend.

The last memory I have of Gus is sitting by the bonfire, talking, and laughing at my house for a cookout a couple weeks before his deployment. I am proud of my military lineage that I come from that has helped keep me and future generations free and safe, though none were lost in the line of duty, I am forever in debt and grateful for the selfless service of my dear friend, Gus.

John 15:13

13 Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”

Video: An American Soldier by Toby Keith

Leave a comment